Why I chose IDELT

Hi everyone,

I haven’t written in a long time – I’ve obviously been very busy with my intensive study! (which I have passed!! YAYYY) 🙂

I wanted to share with you all why I chose to do an IDELT certificate and not a tesol or tefl.

decision (1)

 

The main reason why I chose to enroll in a IDELT course is because it was recommended to me by an English teacher who is currently teaching here in Chile. She said the training is great, it is intensive and expensive but you will learn everything you need to know. I went to the place which she suggested and the people were very lovely and welcoming, I got given the information and basically decided on the spot that it was something I wanted to do. I enrolled a couple of days later and couldn’t be happier with my decision.

The IDELT course I did was full time 10am-5pm Monday-Friday for four weeks in an institute with other students. I liked the idea of going somewhere because its a great way to meet people and also a fantastic opportunity to get out of the apartment! (otherwise id go INSANE). I needed to gain the skills and confidence necessary to become a great teacher.  I have completed 6 practice lessons all 1 hour each to a variety of students which include beginner, Pre-intermediate, intermediate and advanced.

I didn’t want to do an online course like TESOL because I just don’t learn as well that way- which is totally my own person opinion. I like to ask questions and have a teacher that I can relate to. I can see why a lot of people would chose to do an online course because its a lot cheaper, A LOT.. I have seen course at 1/4 of the price I paid which was $1800 USD . Doing it online is a good way to go if you don’t have a time limit and are not in a rush as you can take it at your own pace. I thought well since i’m in the country and have been to a fantastic institute why not take the opportunity!
Honestly any English teaching certificate you have will largely increase your opportunity of gaining employment.

You meet awesome  people when you do a course in person and if you are new to a country that is very important (well at least to me) My course was small there were only 3 trainees so we we able to have a lot of talking time, ask questions and really get to know each other and I was lucky enough to have 2 fantastic fellow trainees. We were all glad that we were not part of a huge group because it is a lot harder and the failure/drop out rate increases with the amount of students in the class….imagine trying to have one on one time or have the opportunity to ask questions when there are 12 other people wanting to ask questions too… nightmare!

Two more days left of the course then I will have to get out there and start teaching!

Chao for now x

2 thoughts on “Why I chose IDELT

  1. Hi Jess!
    I work for BridgeTEFL and came across your blog as we were discussing content worth sharing on our site. Would you be interested in writing for us? Or can we share some of your content? We would love to feature you in an upcoming blog!

    – Lauren Bell

Leave a Reply

