Cerro Santa Lucia

I missed out in seeing this on my last trip so I was really excited to finally go there.
It is a small hill in the centre of Santiago, Chile. It is situated between Alameda del Libertador Bernardo O’Higgins in the south, Santa Lucía Street in the west and Victoria Subercaseaux on the east. Its in down town Santiago opposite a market where I brought a lot of Indio’s last year to take home. – Great souvenir spot!

We took the metro to get there which is quick and easy (if you are used to public transport – I am not so Luckily for me I have a guide 😉 ) When you first enter the gates you arrive at the bottom of the castle where you see the famous yellow arches. They ask you to sign at the gate but there is no entry fee.

To the left and right of the entry you can walk up separate sets of stairs to make it to the second level.
The park itself had a nice walking trail with various monuments and statues. The park is roughly 65,300 square meters.
I was unaware of the further hike that I would be enduring but we slowly made our way to the top and hey its good excersize!

It was a clear day so once we reached the top the views were amazing, A hike I would happily repeat to see the views. Not one for those who are afraid of heights -as I mentioned the stairs aren’t the best and at times it becomes more of a climb to the top. There were not many people at the peak which was great- we went in the middle of the week on a quiet day. I wouldn’t like to go on the weekend as I have heard it gets quite over-crowded.

If you are not wanting to climb to the top it is a lovely park to sit down in and escape the bustling city.
It Would be somewhere I would love to go back to with a picnic basket… I may just do that!

Leave a Reply

